Travails with my camera

Long exposure portraits

During my Photographing People course I tried to take a long exposure night shot and add a portrait.

How hard can that be?

I didn’t really think it through, I’d taken night shots, and I’d taken portraits. The plan was to set up a long exposure shot and fire a flash when someone arrived on scene.

This is the result:

Street Photography Assignment

So, why did I need to fire the flash 3 times to capture this individual?

The exposure is approximately 12 secs. The flash lasts approximately 1/100th second. So the amount of flash light reflected from the subject needs to be about 1000 times ambient levels. Or about 10 stops.

So we need plenty of flash hitting the subject but not the background.
I’m going to try with a couple of remote flash units.

One response

  1. I couldn’t resist commenting. Exceptionally well written!

    July 2, 2014 at 8:59 pm

Leave a Reply

