Travails with my camera

Diploma in Professional Photography

box

I’ve been looking for a training course for intermediate/advanced photography for a while and recently found a course that matched my criteria:

  1. Online/Distance learning as I can’t really give a weekly course the attention it needs
  2. Unlimited time – I can’t always get the projects I want to do done in a short time frame
  3. Recommended

I first came across the OCA’s Art of Photography, but it’s pricey and requires 8 hours study per week.  I then found the Blackford Institute’s Diploma in Professional Photography, which had a sale on.  I did some research and it sounded perfect.  I’m really looking forward to trying some different genres of photography, although I think that it may take somewhere around 24 – 30 months of effort.

I’ll be uploading all of my coursework and replies to this website using ScribD (with some personal details removed).  All related posts will be tagged with “Diploma in Professional Photography”

Tutor

My course tutor is Jeremy Webb, a pro-photographer from Norfolk.  He has a website here. He also has 2 published books:

Course Contents

  • History of photography
  • Introduction to photography
  • Professional photography
  • A guide to your manual settings
  • Techniques for taking professional photographs
  • Lighting
  • Travel photography
  • Photography equipment
  • The great outdoors: nature and landscapes
  • Macro photography
  • Digitally editing your photographs
  • Portrait photography
  • Wedding photography: the basics
  • Wedding photography: the wedding day
  • Wedding photography: presenting your work
  • Photo manipulation techniques
  • Cheesecake and beefcake photography
  • Business photography
  • Product and advertisement photography
  • Fashion photography
  • School photography
  • Photojournalism
  • Sports photography
  • Developing a digital presence
  • Setting up your business, legal and finance
  • Obtaining employment in photography

Reading List

 

Leave a comment